Live United Volunteer of the year

The Live United Volunteer of the Year award recognizes the excellence and impact of a volunteer’s contributions and commitment to community service. The voluntary service demonstrated should be unpaid and not an employment responsibility. The 2015 winners of the award were Esther Myrick, Linda Satterfield, William Pfeiffer and Jamie Goetz. Recognition for Outstanding Youth Service was awarded posthumously to Megan Hammerle. Previous winners include Nancy Engert, Daniel Hogan and Shallon Vandervort (2014), Carol Adams (2013) and Bob Watson (2013).


  • Any person may be nominated if he/she has volunteered on behalf of, or in association with, a nonprofit agency or community organization. An individual may nominate himself or herself. Winners are not eligible to win for 3 years after receiving award.
  • All nominees must have volunteered with the organization for at least one full year (12 months).
  • Separate nominations may be presented for as many different individuals as desired. United Way of Central Indiana staff members are not eligible.
  • All nominees must live in or be based in the United Way of Central Indiana’s service region (Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Marion and Morgan counties).

Awards Presentation

Awards were presented to winners at the Leadership and Volunteerism Summit on March 13, 2015.


A timeline for the 2016 award nomination process has not been set. Please check back soon.